Education and Outreach

The NNA-CO Education and Outreach team supports NNA project teams in engaging with communities and audiences across the Arctic and outside the Arctic in culturally responsive ways. The Community Office Education & Outreach team:

  1. Builds capacity within Alaska and Arctic-interested educators to leverage NNA knowledge and research discoveries in their classrooms and empower youth engagement in Arctic issues.
  2. Builds capacity within NNA researchers for coordinated, impactful, and culturally appropriate Education & Outreach.
  3. Develops Education & Outreach engagement opportunities and resources in collaboration with local educators for NNA researchers.

 

Broader Impacts NetworkBIN

The network fosters collaboration and learning across projects, shares practices across the network, connects NNA scientists to opportunities and increases visibility of NNA research. Together we will increase our capacity for culturally appropriate education and outreach. Join the NNA Broader Impacts Network for quarterly meetings and keep an eye out for network-wide events, outreach fairs, and science storytelling workshops.

For more information and resources from previous meetings visit our Broader Impacts Network page. 

 

Broader Impacts

NNA Broader Impacts Network Meeting #3 (for NNA-funded projects)
Workshop

-

The NNA-CO invites NNA Broader Impact Network members to join us September 23 for our next meeting. We will continue to work together through networking and through building awareness around culturally sensitive work with Arctic communities and discuss how to incorporate these strategies into broader impact plans.

We will utilize guest speakers, breakout rooms and other virtual tools to make these events engaging and collaborative experiences! Please join us to participate in the following:

Upcoming Events

NNA Learn & Connect Series

Join us on January 25, 2023 at our Inclusive Mentoring Workshop where we’ll discuss how to build a more inclusive research environment and provide you with the tools you need to foster meaningful relationships and build support networks.

Sign up on Eventbrite.

 

Past Events

NNA Learn & Connect Series 

November 2, 2022 - 10-11am Alaska / 12-1pm Mountain / 2-3pm Eastern

The NNA-CO hosted a Learn and Connect series meeting which focused on different mediums for communicating your research with Arctic communities. A panel of communication experts discussed when and how to use newsletters, local media, podcasts, and StoryMaps. The panelists included Heather McFarland, science communication manager at International Arctic Research Center, Rod Boyce, public information officer at the Geophysical Institute, Karli Tyance Hassell, Indigenous Engagement Coordinator at Alaska Pacific University, and Mike DeLue, science communicator at International Arctic Research Center.

View the meeting slides and recording.

Broader Impacts Network Meeting

August 31, 2022 - 10-11am Alaska / 12-1pm Mountain / 2-3pm Eastern

The NNA-CO invited NNA researchers to the Broader Impacts Network (BIN) collaboration accelerator. The group used the Topia platform to break out into small groups facilitated by NNA project leaders. Groups were organized by geographic region and research interests across diverse knowledge systems and career levels. The focus of these breakout groups was to explore ways to leverage resources and efforts across projects.

Broader Impacts Network Meeting

April 27, 2022 - 10:00am Alaska / 12:00pm Mountain / 2:00pm Eastern

The NNA-CO hosted a Broader Impacts Network (BIN) meeting on April 27, 2022, which focused on effective ways to use social media in broadening the reach of research and connecting with Arctic communities. A panel of communication experts discussed utilization of social media for sharing research with Arctic communities, impactful and culturally-relevant messaging, and actionable and tangible communication strategies. Panelists included Alice Glenn, Coffee and Quaq host and Alaska Native Media Group journalist, Sara Eckert, Communications from the Office of Polar Programs National Science Foundation, and Kristin Timm, expert in science and environmental communication from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Access the meeting resources here.

Arctic Educators Fair

February 16, 2022; 4:00pm Alaska / 6:00pm Mountain / 8:00pm Eastern

The NNA-CO hosted a virtual Arctic Educators Fair on February 16, 2022. This year's fair focused on Alaska, with outreach fairs with an international focus planned for future years. The goal of this event was to help disseminate great ideas in education, learning products (curricula, videos, learning activities), or opportunities for student or educator engagement (REU, RET, community science, meet-the-scientist video calls, etc.) produced by NNA project teams. 

View the recorded flash talks and resources here.

Arctic Outreach Fair - Alaska Forum on the Environment

February 8, 2022; 2:00pm Alaska / 4:00pm Mountain / 6:00pm Eastern (Presentation recordings coming soon)

The NNA-CO hosted a virtual NNA Arctic Outreach Fair that took place as part of the Alaska Forum on the Environment. The goal of this event was to share NNA projects with community members across Alaska to encourage new connections and community engagement. 

View the recorded flash talks and resources here.

Who We Are

The NNA-CO Education and Outreach team is located at CU Boulder and UAF and supports all NNA projects. 

Meet our team.